What’s the difference between POSIXct and POSIXlt?

November 21, 2012
By

(This article was first published on isomorphismes, and kindly contributed to R-bloggers)

POSIXct is the signed number of seconds since “the epoch”. For example it was

  • 1351298112 UTC (GMT)

when I wrote this. (1351298112 UTC = Sat Oct 27, 2:35 am GMT = Fri Oct 26, 8:35 pm EST = Fri Oct 26, 5:35 pm PST = 2:35 pm HST)

POSIXlt is one of many text | character | string formats such as:

  • May 17, 2017
  • 17/5/2017
  • 17-5-17 05:24:39

To leave a comment for the author, please follow the link and comment on their blog: isomorphismes.

R-bloggers.com offers daily e-mail updates about R news and tutorials on topics such as: Data science, Big Data, R jobs, visualization (ggplot2, Boxplots, maps, animation), programming (RStudio, Sweave, LaTeX, SQL, Eclipse, git, hadoop, Web Scraping) statistics (regression, PCA, time series, trading) and more...



If you got this far, why not subscribe for updates from the site? Choose your flavor: e-mail, twitter, RSS, or facebook...

Comments are closed.

Sponsors

Mango solutions



RStudio homepage



Zero Inflated Models and Generalized Linear Mixed Models with R

Quantide: statistical consulting and training



http://www.eoda.de









ODSC

CRC R books series











Contact us if you wish to help support R-bloggers, and place your banner here.

Never miss an update!
Subscribe to R-bloggers to receive
e-mails with the latest R posts.
(You will not see this message again.)

Click here to close (This popup will not appear again)